Laura's Flora Photo Journal

Peperomia Obtusifolia

I didn't even know this plant was called a Peperomia Obtusifolia before typing up this blog. I did know it was a Peperomia, but there are so many types, its hard to keep track. Its also called a Baby Rubber Plant, which is confusing, because its not a Rubber Plant.

I now have a Peperomia collection, but this was my first. I got it roughly 2 years ago, I can't really remember when. It came in a small 12 cm pot and was very cute. It didn't do much for about a year, then I started noticing its growth and have repotted it 2 or 3 times since.

The stems grew really long, some of them are 55 cm, but they were a bit flimsy making the plant droop. I've now staked up 3 of them, cutting back a few of the others to encourage it to bush out more at the bottom.

It drinks a lot of water, the terracotta pot not really helping as it draws the water away from the soil, drying it out quicker. I give it a large amount of water just about once a week, and wipe dust off the leaves and tie new growth to the stake about once a month.

Its been a very low maintenance plant, with a stunning amount of growth. This plant sits next to my work-from-home table where I can admire it everyday.

Peperomia Obtusifolia - July 2022

#houseplants #peperomia #plants