Laura's Flora Photo Journal

Peperomia Ginny

Sticking to the Peperomia family, here's one that I'd never seen before and actually gasped out loud at the nursery when I stumbled upon it. The Peperomia Ginny.

Peperomia Ginny - Jul 2022

Now, you may not know this about me, but I am a huge Harry Potter fan. Ever since I was about 7 the Harry Potter universe has been a part of my life. I've reread the books probably 20 times, and you definitely want me on your team for Harry Potter Quiz Night.

Ginny Weasley was my childhood idol. Book Ginny I must clarify, they did Movie Ginny a disservice. She was this shy, stuttering girl, youngest sibling to many brothers, who had this epic transformation to strong, independant, courageous to a fault, and fiercely-loyal. I related so much to her and she was inspirational. Heck, I even dressed up as her to go to the last Harry Potter book release, and dyed my hair red for 5 years.

And here, at this nursey, I found two of my worlds joined in one. Plants and Potter. What a combination. Maybe Im actually more like Neville with his love of Herbology.

There were some pests on the plant, but I didn't care, I can remove pests. I bought the plant and immediately repotted her in this pink and gold pot I had painted during lockdown, and now she sits on my bedside table reminding me, inspiring me, to be brave. Gryffindor brave.

#ginny weasley #houseplants #plants