Laura's Flora Photo Journal

Monstera Deliciosa

I'll make my first house plant post about the ever-trendy, super-common, but still deserving of my love, Monstera Deliciosa.

This was one of the first plants I bought when I moved acrossed the country about 2 and a half years ago. It had maybe 2 or 3 leaves back then. The pandemic hit shortly after buying this plant, so I was locked down in my small apartment with not a lot of plants, so it got a lot of my attention.

In that time, I stuck to a weekly watering schedule, giving the occasional (meaning when I remember) fertiliser in the summer months, and wiping down the leaves when it gets a bit dusty. I've repotted it twice, and its rewarded me with putting out 10 leaves (almost 11, one is busy unfurling as I type this), each leaf slightly bigger than the previous.

After it grew about 5 leaves, I put a stake in the pot and tried to train it to grow upwards. I've also tied up some of the stems so the plant looks more neat.

It now stands a glorious 110 cm tall, and is my pride and joy.

Monstera Deliciosa - July 2022

#houseplants #monstera #plants