Laura's Flora Photo Journal

Euphorbia Trigona

I got this Euphorbia roughly 2 years back when he was less than 20cm tall. I bought one for my brother for his birthday (is he still alive? I know you're reading this...) I tried to tie some symbolism into getting this Euphorbia for my brother. Its native to Central Africa, he spent a couple months in Central Africa. But really, I just thought it was a cool looking plant and I couldn't resist getting one for myself too.

Euphorbia Closeup

Not quite a cactus, this succulent has leaves that grow along side the thorns, forming these three ridges (hence "Tri"-gona). These leaves are slightly sensitive, I lost a big amount of them when I repotted him into some poor-draining soil and overwatered him.

Now standing about 80cm, I'm actually quite surprised by how much he has grown. Since he's very different to something like a Monsterra, where you can easily see new growth coming in, this Euphorbia has been growing little by little without me taking note.

He's been slow and steady, growing ever upwards. Not being flashy, but being consistent.

Euphorbia - July 2022

#euphorbia #houseplant